Department of the Legislative Assembly, Northern Territory Government

Economic Policy Scrutiny Committee

MembershipTerms of Reference - Media ReleasesInquiries - Annual ReportsContact

The role of the Economic Policy Scrutiny Committee is to:

  • inquire into and report on any matter within its subject area referred to it by the Assembly, a Minister or on its own motion; and
  • examine any Bill referred to it by the Assembly and determine whether the Assembly should pass the Bill or amend the Bill and whether the Bill has sufficient regard to the rights and liberties of individuals and the institution of Parliament.


Mr Tony Sievers MLA (Chair)BrennanTerritory Labor
Mr Lawrence Costa MLAArafuraTerritory Labor
Mr Jeff Collins MLAFong LimIndependent
Mrs Lia Finocchiaro MLASpillettCountry Liberal
Mrs Kate Worden MLASandersonTerritory Labor

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference for the Economic Policy Scrutiny Committee

Media Releases

Bills referred in October 2017


Completed Bill Inquiries
Criminal Property Forfeiture Amendment Bill 2019
Courts Legislation Amendment Bill 2019
Residential Tenancies Legislation Amendment Bill 2019
Work Health and Safety (National Uniform Legislation) Amendment Bill 2019
Firearms Legislation Amendment Bill 2019
Sex Industry Bill 2019
Water Further Amendment Bill 2019
Transport Legislation Amendment Bill 2019
Electoral Legislation Further Amendment Bill 2019
Construction Contracts (Security of Payments) Legislation Amendment Bill 2019
Liquor Bill 2019
Hemp Industry Bill 2019
Integrity and Accountability Legislation Amendment Bill 2019
Care and Protection of Children Amendment Bill 2019
Water Legislation Miscellaneous Amendments Bill 2019
Water Amendment Bill 2019
Motor Accidents (Compensation) Amendment Bill 2019
Medical Services Amendment Bill 2018
Liquor Amendment Bill 2018
Petroleum Legislation Amendment Bill 2018
Justice Legislation Amendment Bill 2018
Licensed Surveyors Amendment Bill 2018
Superannuation Legislation Amendment Bill 2018
Tobacco Control Amendment Bill 2018
Water Legislation Amendment Bill 2018
Agents and Land Legislation Amendment Bill 2018
Training and Skills Development Amendment Bill 2018
Northern Territory Civil and Administrative Tribunal Amendment Bill 2018
Gaming Control Amendment Bill 2018
Residential Tenancies Amendment Bill 2018
Evidence (National Uniform Legislation) Amendment (Journalist Privilege) Bill 2017
Pastoral Land Legislation Amendment Bill 2017
Biological Control Amendment Bill 2017

Annual Reports

Annual Report 2017-18, 23 August 2018
Associated Minutes of Proceedings
Annual Report 2018-19 - 4 September 2019
Associated Minutes of Proceedings


Dr Jennifer Buckley
Committee Secretary 
GPO Box 3721
Telephone:  (08) 8946 1501
Email: Contact

Last updated: 17 Dec 2019