Department of the Legislative Assembly, Northern Territory Government

Inquiry into Local Decision Making

Membership - Terms of Reference - Submissions - Hearings


Mr Joel Bowden MLA   JohnstonTerritory Labor
Mr Lawrence Costa MLAArafuraTerritory Labor
Mrs Robyn Lambley MLAAraluenIndependent
Mr Mark Monaghan MLAFong LimTerritory Labor
Mr Bill Yan MLANamatjiraCountry Liberals
Mr Yingiya Mark Guyula MLA**MulkaIndependent

** Mr Guyula is not a member of the Public Accounts Committee, however, on 12 May 2021 the Assembly resolved that:
Standing Order 193 (2) is suspended insofar as it would otherwise prevent the Member for Mulka attending the Public Accounts Committee’s deliberative or in camera meetings regarding any inquiry into Local Decision Making or related matters.

Terms of Reference

The Public Accounts Committee will inquire into and report on the implementation and future of the Local Decision Making (LDM) Framework, having particular regard to:

  1. the progress, achievements, challenges and future potential of LDM implementation across the Northern Territory.
  2. how to foster community and leadership interest in and commitment to new LDM agreements.
  3. the impact of technology, Treaty, Truth-Telling and Voice on LDM development.


Submissions due by 13 August 2021

Submission 1 - Central Desert Regional Council
Submission 2 - Jeff Hulcombe
Submission 3 - Njanjma Aboriginal Corporation
Submission 4 - Northern Territory PHN
Submission 5 - Martin Schahinger
Submission 6 - Green River Aboriginal Corporation
Submission 7 - MacDonnell Regional Council
Submission 8 - Local Government Association of the Northern Territory
Submission 9 - Country Liberal Party Opposition
Submission 10 - Australian Red Cross
Submission 11 - Yolngu Nations Assembly
Submission 12 - Barkly Regional Council
Submission 13 -  East Arnhem Regional Council
Submission 14 - Ingkerreke Services
Submission 15 - Arnhem Land Progress Aboriginal Corporation
Submission 16 - Peter Holt
Submission 17 - NT Treaty Commission
Submission 18 - Anindilyakwa Land Council
Submission 19 - Laynhapuy Homelands Aboriginal Corporation
Submission 20 - Aboriginal Peak Organisations of the Northern Territory
Submission 21 - Central Australian Aboriginal Congress
Submission 22 - concerned Australians
Submission 23 - Empowered Communities
Submission 24 - Northern Territory Government 


Public Hearing Schedule - Thursday 16 and Friday 17 September 2021


Mr Russell Keith
First Clerk Assistant and Committee Secretary
GPO Box 3721
Telephone: (08) 8946 1480

Last updated: 16 Sep 2021