Department of the Legislative Assembly

Economic Policy Scrutiny Committee

MembershipTerms of Reference - Media ReleasesInquiries - Annual ReportsContact

The role of the Economic Policy Scrutiny Committee is to:

  • inquire into and report on any matter within its subject area referred to it by the Assembly, a Minister or on its own motion; and
  • examine any Bill referred to it by the Assembly and determine whether the Assembly should pass the Bill or amend the Bill and whether the Bill has sufficient regard to the rights and liberties of individuals and the institution of Parliament.


Mr Tony Sievers MLA (Chair)BrennanTerritory Labor
Mr Jeff Collins MLA (Deputy Chair)Fong LimTerritory Labor
Mr Lawrence Costa MLAArafuraTerritory Labor
Mr Gary Higgins MLADalyCountry Liberal
Mr Yingiya Guyula MLANhulunbuyIndependent

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference for the Economic Policy Scrutiny Committee

Media Releases

Bills referred in October 2017


Biological Control Amendment Bill

Pastoral Land Legislation Amendment Bill

Evidence (National Uniform Legislation) Amendment (Journalist Privilege) Bill

Residential Tenancies Amendment Bill

Northern Territory Civil and Administrative Tribunal Amendment Bill

Gaming Control Amendment Bill

Training and Skills Development Amendment Bill

Agents and Land Legislation Amendment Bill

Water Legislation Amendment Bill

Tobacco Control Amendment Bill

Superannuation Legislation Amendment Bill

Licensed Surveyors Amendment Bill

Justice Legislation Amendment Bill

Liquor Amendment Bill

Medical Services Amendment Bill

Petroleum Legislation Amendment Bill

Annual Reports

Annual Report 2017-18, 23 August 2018
Associated Minutes of Proceedings


Dr Jennifer Buckley
Committee Secretary 
GPO Box 3721
Telephone:  (08) 8946 1501
Email: Contact

Last updated: 29 Nov 2018