Department of the Legislative Assembly


The Department of the Legislative Assembly is responsible for the administration of a range of legislation relating to the Parliament.  Some legislation - for example, the Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act and Regulations - was created by the Australian Parliament and establishes the Legislative Assembly.  Other legislation is the product of the Legislative Assembly under powers delegated by the Australian Parliament.

Acts Relating to the Parliament

Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978

Northern Territory (Self-Government) Regulations 1978

Assembly Members and Statutory Officers (Remuneration and Other Entitlements) Act

Electoral Act

Interpretation Act

Ombudsman (Northern Territory) Act

The Department directly administers legislation specifically relating to Members and their obligations, the powers and privileges of the Assembly and its Members, and security.

Acts Administered by the Legislative Assembly

Constitutional Convention Act 2011

Legislative Assembly (Disclosure of Interests) Act
Legislative Assembly (Members' Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards) Act 
Legislative Assembly Members (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act

Legislative Assembly Members' Superannuation Contributions Act

Legislative Assembly Members' Superannuation Fund 

Legislative Assembly (Powers and Privileges) Act

Legislative Assembly (Security) Act

Last updated: 08 Feb 2017