Department of the Legislative Assembly, Northern Territory Government

School Based Constables


11th Assembly


121. School Based Constables

Mr Mills to MINISTER for Police, Fire & Emergency Services

    In regard to the employment of School Based Constables:

    (a) what is the number of positions employed within the School Based Constables Program in April 2010;

    (b) is this an increase since 1 January 2009;

    (c) what is the number of Constables currently in place together with the names of the schools where they are based; and

    (d) will the future financial projections allow for an increase in the number of Constables to cover the new schools.


Answered on 15/06/2010

    (a) There are 21 School Based Police Officer positions.

    (b) No.

    (c) The number of constables and schools they are responsible for is as follows:


        1 x 1st Class Constable
        O’Loughlin Catholic College
        Holy Family Catholic School
        St Andrew Lutheran School
        Bakewell Primary School
        Woodroffe Primary School
        Middle Point Primary School
        1 x Constable
        Sanderson High School
        Malak Primary School
        Anula Primary School
        Karama Primary School
        Wulagi Primary School
        Manunda Terrace Primary School
        1 x Senior Constable
        Taminmin High School
        Bees Creek Primary School
        Berry Springs Primary School
        Howard Springs Primary School
        Humpty Doo Primary School
        Girraween Primary School
        Batchelor School
        Litchfield Christian School
        1 x Senior Constable
        St John Catholic College
        St Mary’s Primary School
        St Paul’s Primary School
        Parap Primary School
        Nemarluk Special School
        Henbury Avenue Special School
        1 x Constable
        Marrara Christian School
        Marrara Primary School
        Nightcliff Primary School
        Millner Primary School
        Good Shepherd Catholic School
        1 x Senior Constable
        Darwin High School
        Darwin Middle School
        Larrakeyah Primary School
        Stuart Park Primary School
        Ludmilla Primary School
        1 x Senior Constable
        Dripstone High School
        Nakara Primary School
        Wanguri Primary School
        Leanyer Primary School
        Alawa Primary School
        1 x Constable and
        1 x Senior Constable
        Casuarina Senior College
        Holy Spirit School
        Essington School
        Jingili Primary School
        Moil Primary School
        Wagaman Primary School
        1 x Senior Constable
        Kormilda College
        Nightcliff Middle School
        Palmerston Christian School
        Durack Primary School
        1 x Senior Constable
        Palmerston High School
        Driver Primary School
        Moulden Primary School
        Gray Primary School
        Sacred Heart Primary School

        Alice Springs
1 x Senior Constable
Centralian Senior Secondary College
Alice Outcomes (shared)
Ross Park Primary School
Rona Glynn Pre School
Braitling Primary School
Teppa Hill Pre School
Sadadeen Primary School
Nathalie Gorey Pre School
Acacia Hill School
Ida Standley Pre School
Special Projects as Allocated1 x Senior Constable
Bradshaw Primary School
Bradshaw Pre School
OLSH Bath Street Campus
OLSH Tregear Campus
OLSH Sadadeen Campus
Alice Springs Steiner School
Yipirinya Primary School
Bike Engraving
Special Projects as Allocated
1 x Senior Constable
St Philips
Living Waters Lutheran School
Larapinta Primary School
Larapinta Pre School
Graffiti Database
Bluelight Administration
Special Projects as Allocated
1 x 1st Class Constable
Centralian Middle School – ANZAC Campus
Alice Springs School of the Air
Gillen Primary School
Gillen Pre School
Amoonguna Community School
Araluen Christian School
Road Safety
Special Projects as Allocated
1x Constable
Centralian Middle School – Gillen Campus
Alice Outcomes (shared)
Yirara College
Special Projects as Allocated
Youth Service Liaison (shared)
1 x Senior Auxillary
Safety House Coordinator
Special Projects


        1x Senior Constable 1st Class
        Katherine High
        Katherine South Primary
        St Josephs College
        St Josephs Primary
        Clyde Fenton Primary
        MacFarlane Primary
        MacFarlane Preschool
        Casuarina St Primary
        Pine Creek School
        Kalkaringi (on request)

    1x Senior Constable
    Nhulunbuy High School
    Nhulunbuy Primary School
    Yirrkala CEC
    Laynhapuy Homelands School
    Nhulunbuy Christian School
Tennant Creek

1x Constable
Tennant Creek High School
Tennant Creek Primary School
Tennant Creek Day Care Centre

    (d) The deployment of staff is constantly reviewed by the Commissioner of Police and factors such as the opening of new schools is considered in this context.
Last updated: 04 Aug 2016