

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory 15 – 17 October and 22 – 24 October 2024 Meetings

Attendance of His Honour the Administrator to Declare Open the 15th Assembly

His Honour, the Administrator of the Northern Territory attended the Assembly and declared open the First Session of the 15th Legislative Assembly.

Members Sworn

Members elected to the 15th Legislative Assembly made and subscribed an oath or affirmation of allegiance and of office before His Honour the Administrator.

Election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker

Mrs Robyn Lambley was elected as Speaker. Mr Brian O'Gallagher was elected as Deputy Speaker.

Bills Introduced and Passed

- Bail Legislation Amendment Bill 2024
- Police Administration Amendment Bill 2024
- Criminal Code Amendment Bill 2024
- Liquor Legislation Further Amendment Bill 2024
- Sentencing Amendment Bill 2024

Appointment of Committees

- Standing Orders Committee
- Committee of Privileges
- House Committee
- Public Accounts Committee
- Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee
- Standing Committee on the ICAC
- Legislative Scrutiny Committee

Ministerial Report

Delivering for Territorians

General Business

Motion on Better and Fairer Education Agreement – passed Motion on Improving decision making, integrity, transparency and accountability in our Parliament – interrupted.

Matter of Public Importance

Bi-partisan approach to domestic, family and sexual violence in the Northern Territory

Petitions Presented

Petition 1: Northern Territory Inquiry into Gender Affirmation Therapy Petition 2: Driver Protection Screens on Darwin Buses