

Select Committee on Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers (Vaping)

# **Associated Minutes of Proceedings**

# INTERIM REPORT Inquiry into Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers

May 2023



14<sup>th</sup> Assembly

## Select Committee on Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers (Vaping)

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

### Meeting No. 1

12.00 pm, Wednesday 29 March 2023 Litchfield Room, Level 3, Parliament House

Present:	Mr Brent Potter MLA, Chair, Member for Fannie Bay Mrs Jo Hersey MLA, Member for Katherine Ms Kezia Purick MLA, Member for Goyder Mr Dheran Young MLA, Deputy Chair, Member for Daly
Secretariat:	Mr Russell Keith, First Clerk Assistant Ms Julia Knight, Committee Secretary Ms Elise Dyer, Senior Research Officer Mr Caelan Ikin, Administration/Research Officer

## 1. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR

Pursuant to Standing Order 186, the Chair called for nominations for Deputy Chair.

Mrs Hersey nominated Ms Purick to be Deputy Chair. Mr Young seconded the nomination.

Mr Young nominated himself to be Deputy Chair. Mr Potter seconded the nomination.

Ms Purick subsequently withdrew her nomination. There being no further nominations, the Chair declared Mr Young to be the elected Deputy Chair.

#### 2. PROCEDURAL MOTIONS

Mr Young moved and Ms Purick seconded that:

Pursuant to Standing Order 194(1), the Committee authorises the publication of public hearing transcripts after witnesses have had 3 business days to make any corrections.

Question put and passed.

Ms Purick moved and Mr Young seconded that:

Pursuant to Standing Order 194(4), the Committee authorises the Chair of the Committee to issue media releases and give briefings on matters relating to its inquiry.

Question put and passed.

#### 3. PROPOSED INQUIRY PLAN

- The Committee agreed to the proposed inquiry plan with submissions to be called for by 26 May 2023. Members undertook to advise the committee secretary of any other individuals or organisations to be added to the list of key stakeholders.
- The Committee further agreed to ask representatives from the Departments of the Chief Minister and Cabinet, Education and Health to provide it with a public briefing on Monday 17 April 2023.

### 4. NEXT MEETING

Public Briefing: 9.00 am, Monday 17 April 2023.

Meeting closed at 12.24 pm.

\*

Mr Brent Potter MLA Chair



14<sup>th</sup> Assembly

# Select Committee on Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers (Vaping)

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

#### Meeting No. 2

9.00 am, Monday 17 April 2023 Litchfield Room, Level 3, Parliament House

Present:	Mr Brent Potter MLA, Chair, Member for Fannie Bay Mrs Jo Hersey MLA, Member for Katherine Mr Dheran Young MLA, Deputy Chair, Member for Daly
Apologies	Ms Kezia Purick MLA, Member for Goyder
Secretariat:	Ms Julia Knight, Committee Secretary Ms Elise Dyer, Senior Research Officer Mr Caelan Ikin, Administration/Research Officer

#### 1. PUBLIC BRIEFING

The Committee heard from the following witnesses:

#### Department of Education

Saeed Amin: Deputy Chief Executive Regional Services

The witness withdrew.

#### Department of Health

Samuel Keitaanpaa: Director, Medicines and Poisons David Scholz: Director, Clinical Policy and Planning

#### **Questions Taken on Notice:**

- 1. Can you provide any medical evidence regarding harms from vaping in particular any evidence of medical episodes from vaping in the NT?
- 2. Can you provide information on the TGA's advice regarding the regulation of flavoured vaporisers?

The witnesses withdrew.

#### 2. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

Mrs Hersey moved and Mr Young seconded that:

The Minutes of Meeting No. 1 of 29 March 2023 be confirmed

Question put and passed.

#### 3. CORRESPONDENCE

Noted.

#### 4. BRIEFING NOTE – POTENTIAL COMMITTEE TRAVEL

The Committee agreed to set aside Sunday 13 August to Tuesday 15 August to meet with key stakeholders located in Canberra.

## 5. OTHER BUSINESS

Mr Young undertook to contact Miwatj Health regarding vaping issues in Nhulunbuy and the East Arnhem region.

## 6. NEXT MEETING

Deliberative: 12 noon, Wednesday 17 May 2023.

Meeting closed at 10.45 am.

Brit Pather

Mr Brent Potter MLA Chair



14<sup>th</sup> Assembly

## Select Committee on Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers (Vaping)

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

#### Meeting No. 3

12.00 pm, Wednesday 10 May 2023 Litchfield Room, Level 3, Parliament House

Present:	Mr Brent Potter MLA, Chair, Member for Fannie Bay Mrs Jo Hersey MLA, Member for Katherine Ms Kezia Purick MLA, Member for Goyder Mr Dheran Young MLA, Deputy Chair, Member for Daly
Secretariat:	Ms Julia Knight, Committee Secretary Mr Russell Keith, First Clerk Assistant Ms Elise Dyer, Senior Research Officer Mr Caelan Ikin, Administration/Research Officer

#### 1. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

Mrs Hersey moved and Mr Young seconded that:

The Minutes of Meeting No. 2 of 17 April 2023 be confirmed

Question put and passed.

#### 2. CORRESPONDENCE

Noted.

Mr Potter moved and Mr Young seconded that:

The Committee authorise publication of submission Nos. 1 - 5, redacting personal information in all submissions such as personal addresses and phone numbers prior to publication.

Question put and passed.

#### 3. OTHER BUSINESS

In light of the recent measures announced by the Commonwealth Government, it was agreed that the purpose of the Committee's inquiry has been superseded by national decisions. As such, the Chair authorised circulation of his Draft *Interim Report: Inquiry into Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers* for consideration at the Committee's next meeting.

#### 4. NEXT MEETING

Deliberative: 12 noon, Wednesday 17 May 2023.

Meeting closed at 12\_10 pm.

Mr Brent Potter MLA Chair



14<sup>th</sup> Assembly

# Select Committee on Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers (Vaping)

### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

#### Meeting No. 4

12.00 pm, Wednesday 17 May 2023 Litchfield Room, Level 3, Parliament House

Present:	Mr Brent Potter MLA, Chair, Member for Fannie Bay Mrs Jo Hersey MLA, Member for Katherine Ms Kezia Purick MLA, Member for Goyder Mr Dheran Young MLA, Deputy Chair, Member for Daly
Secretariat:	Ms Julia Knight, Committee Secretary Mr Russell Keith, First Clerk Assistant Ms Elise Dyer, Senior Research Officer Mr Caelan Ikin, Administration/Research Officer

#### 1. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

Ms Purick moved and Mrs Hersey seconded that:

The Minutes of Meeting No. 3 of 10 May 2023 be confirmed

Question put and passed.

#### 2. CORRESPONDENCE

Noted.

Mr Young moved and Mrs Hersey seconded that:

The Committee authorise publication of submission Nos. 6 and 7, redacting personal information in all submissions such as personal addresses and phone numbers prior to publication.

Question put and passed.

#### 3. CONSIDERATION OF CHAIR'S DRAFT INTERIM REPORT

Mr Young moved and Mrs Hersey seconded that:

The Committee adopt the Chair's draft *Interim Report: Inquiry into Electronic Cigarettes and Personal Vaporisers for tabling in the Assembly.* 

Question put and passed.

Meeting closed at 12.08 pm.

Mr Brent Potter MLA Chair