ESTIMATES COMMITTEE – ANNUAL REPORT Question Taken on Notice

Date: 30/11/2017

Subject: Teaching literacy

From: Member for Blain, Terry Mills MLA

To: Minister for Education, the Hon Eva Lawler MLA

Agency: Department of Education

Number: 11.2

Question: What approaches are being used in primary schools to teach literacy?

Answer:

 As part of the Indigenous Education Strategy, the Department of Education has been working to improve the consistency of teaching approaches in remote schools through a mandated approach to literacy and numeracy.

- The two mandated approaches in remote schools are Literacy and Numeracy Essentials (LANE) and Direct Instruction (DI).
- A list of schools implementing a literacy program through LANE or DI is detailed below.

School Name	Program 2016/2017	School Name	Program 2016/2017
Alcoota School	LANE	Ngukurr School	LANE
Alpurrurulam School	LANE	Nyirripi School	LANE
Amanbidji School	LANE	Papunya School	LANE
Amoonguna School	LANE	Pigeon Hole School	LANE
Ampilatwatja School	LANE	Pine Creek School	LANE
Areyonga School	LANE	Ramingining School	LANE
Arlparra School	LANE	Robinson River School	LANE
Baniyala Garrangali School	LANE	Rockhampton Downs School	LANE
Barunga School	LANE	Sadadeen Primary School	LANE
Belyuen School	LANE	Shepherdson College	LANE
Bonya School	LANE	Timber Creek School	LANE
Borroloola School	LANE	Tipperary Station School	LANE
Bulla Camp School	LANE	Titjikala School	LANE
Bulman School	LANE	Urapunga School	LANE
Canteen Creek School	LANE	Wallace Rockhole School	LANE
Clyde Fenton Primary School	LANE	Wallungurru School	LANE
Dundee Beach School	LANE	Watarrka School	LANE
Elliott School	LANE	Willowra School	LANE
Imanpa school	LANE	Woolaning School	LANE
Haasts Bluff School	LANE	Woolianna School	LANE

School Name	Program 2016/2017	School Name	Program 2016/2017
Harts Range School	LANE	Yarralin School	LANE
Jilkminggan School	LANE	Alekarenge School	DI
Kalkaringi School	LANE	Alyarrmandumanja Umbakumba School	DI
Katherine School of the Air	LANE	Angurugu School	DI
Kiana School	LANE	Gapuwiyak School	DI
Kintore Street School	LANE	Mamaruni School	DI
Lajamanu School	LANE	Milikapiti School	DI
Laramba School	LANE	Milyakburra School	DI
MacFarlane Primary School	LANE	Minyerri School	DI
Manyallaluk School	LANE	Nganambala School	DI
Mataranka School	LANE	Nganmarriyanga School	DI
Mount Allen School	LANE	Ntaria School	DI
Mulga Bore School	LANE	Numbulwar School	DI
Murray Downs School	LANE	Peppimenarti School	DI
Mutitjulu School	LANE	Pularumpi School	DI
Neutral Junction School	LANE	Warruwi School	DI
Newcastle Waters School	LANE	Wugularr School	DI

- Any Northern Territory Government school not included in the list above confers responsibility upon the principal to select the most appropriate resources and programs that align with the Australian curriculum.
- The Department of Education does not centrally collect information related to specific school-level literacy teaching approaches.¹

-

¹ The Department of Education will be unable to provide this information as the administrative effort required to respond is excessive and would result in the undue diversion of resources from service delivery.