# LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

#### WRITTEN QUESTION

Mrs Finocchiaro to the Minister for Education:

#### **Schools Funding-Building Better Schools Grants**

On 18 April 2017 you announced grants of \$300,000 for every Territory School. Please advise:

1. The names of the schools that have received the \$300,000 broken down into private and public schools.

Non-government schools

Nil

Government schools -projects brought forward to 2016-17

School
Arlparra School*
Bakewell Primary School
Howard Springs Primary School*
Leanyer Primary School
Ramingining School*
Taminmin College

<sup>\*</sup>Two projects with second part funding in 2017-18.

2. The names of the schools that will receive the \$300,000 in financial year 2017/2018 broken down into private and public schools.

## **Government schools**

School
Alawa Primary School
Amanbidji School
Angurugu School
Arlparra School
Batchelor Area School
Bradshaw Primary School
Casuarina Street Primary School
Darwin Middle School
Dripstone Middle School

School
Driver Primary School
Girraween Primary School
Gray Primary School
Haasts Bluff School
Howard Springs Primary School
Jilkminggan School
Katherine South Primary School
Kintore Street School
Lajamanu School
Laramba School
Larrakeyah Primary School
Ludmilla Primary School
Maningrida School
Manunda Terrace Primary School
Milingimbi School
Millner Primary School
Moil Primary School
Mulga Bore School
Nemarluk School
Neutral Junction School
Nganambala School
Ngukurr School
Nightcliff Middle School
Palmerston Senior College
Papunya School
Pularumpi School
Ramingining School
Rosebery Middle School
Ross Park Primary School
Sadadeen Primary School
Sanderson Middle School
Urapunga School
Willowra School
Wulagi Primary School

# Non-government schools

The non-government school peak bodies (Catholic Education Office NT, NT Christian Schools and Association of Independent Schools) have been tasked with nominating the schools for 2017/18. There will be four schools from the Catholic sector, two from the Christian Schools Association, two independents and one Lutheran School.

NT Christian Schools has nominated Marrara Christian College and Araluen Christian College.

It is expected a list of Catholic and independent schools (including the Lutheran nomination) will be finalised in May 2017.

3. How do schools apply for and acquit the funding along with any assessment criteria?

# **Government schools**

The government school sector was invited to submit an Expression of Interest for Round 1 for the 2017-18 Minor New Works (MNW) program. Each round will be determined based on works identified by schools and projects selected based on readiness to begin design and to progress to the open market for procurement within the 2017-18 period. A number of schools elected to supplement approved works or commitments that are in progress, with their Building Better Schools funding, where this achieved a better value for money approach.

## Non-government schools

Non-government schools will be provided with the \$300 000 through a capital grant, subject to schools entering a funding agreement with the Department of Education (DoE) that includes the Buy Local policy.

Non-government school peak bodies will be required to sign funding agreements with DoE. Project eligibility criteria and acquittal procedures will be specified in the agreements.

4. What schools are excluded from receiving the \$300,000?

Nil

5. Is the \$300,000 additional funding in the budget or is it covered by minor new works?

The total approved 2017-18 DoE MNW program is \$17.6 million which includes Round 1 of the BBS and funding for unforeseen, regulatory and urgent projects.

6. What is defined as a "school" in order to access the \$300,000?

A gazetted Territory school as established under the *Education Act*.