	Question	es Committee 2011 ns Taken On Notice 5/2011 to 23/06/2011)	
Date:	16/06/2011	Output:	
		Sub Output:	
Subject:	Diesel Power Supply in Indigenous Communities		
From	n:Mr Adam Giles to Ho Indigenous Developn	on Malarndirri McCarthy nent	
	5-23		
Question:	How many Indigenou	s communities take their power supply from diesel?	
Answer:			
Answered On: 16/06/2011			

ESTIMATES COMMITTEE Questions Taken on Notice

Date: Regional	16 June 2011	Output: Sub Output:	2.0 Local Government, and Community Services Remote Management		
Subject:	Diesel Power Supply in I	Diesel Power Supply in Indigenous Communities			
From:	Mr Adam Giles MLA	To: I	Hon Malarndirri McCarthy MLA		
Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services					
Number:	5-23				
Question:	How many Indigenous communities take their power supply from diesel?				

Answer:

Approximately 98% of outstations throughout the Territory (530 in total) take their power supply from diesel. Although many outstations have a solar/diesel hybrid system, very few rely totally on a solar system to provide all their power needs.

The Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services' Indigenous Essential Services Program provide essential services to 72 Indigenous communities and 67 outstations connected to the remote distribution networks. Services are delivered under contract by Indigenous Essential Services Pty Ltd, a wholly owned, not for profit, subsidiary of the Power Water Corporation (PWC). The response provided relates specifically to these communities.

A detailed list of the power generation source for Indigenous communities serviced by IES is shown in Attachment A.

Wadeye, the largest Indigenous community in the Northern Territory, will be converted from diesel to natural gas power supply, with the construction of a new gas-fired power station scheduled for completion in 2012-13. This will reduce diesel fuel consumption by approximately 2 million litres per annum. Diesel fuelled power stations are located at:-

Alpurrurulam Amanbidji (Kildurk) Atitjere (Hart Range) Bulman Daguragu Finke (Apatula) Galiwin'ku (Elcho Island) Gapuwiyak (Lake Evella) Haasts Bluff (Ikuntji) Imangara (Murray Downs) Kalkarindji (Wave Hill) Kintore Laramba Manyallaluk (Eva Valley) Milingimbi Minjilang (Croker Island) Mt Liebig Nguiu (Wurrimiyanga) Nturiya Nyirripi Papunya Pigeon Hole Pmara Jutunta (Ti Tree 6 mile) Rittarangu Tara Umbakumba Warruwi Willowra Wutunugurra (Epenarra) Yuelamu

Amanbidji (Kildurk) Areyonga Bulla Canteen Creek (Owaitilla) Engawala Gunbalanya (Oenpelli) Hermannsburg Imanpa Kaltukatjara (Docker River) Lajamanu Maningrida Milikapiti (Snake Bay) Milyakburra (Bickerton Is) Minverri Nauiyu (Daly River) Ngukurr Numbulwar Palumpa Peppimenarti Pirlangimpi Ramingining Robinson River Titjikala Wadeye Weemol Wilora Yarralin Yuendumu

A number of outstations and communities are electrically interconnected and power is supplied through either IES Pty Ltd diesel power stations or the commercial electricity grid.