LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY WRITTEN QUESTION

Mr Higgins to the Chief Minister:

Future Planning for Jabiru

- 1. Please provide a copy of the Jabiru master plan of the Mirarr traditional owners produced by the Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation as referenced in the Estimates hearing on 28 November 2017.
- 2. Please advise the names and titles of the Jabiru working group that comprises the traditional owners, the NLC, NT and Commonwealth Governments, Local Government, the West Arnhem Shire and Energy Resources of Australia (ERA) as referenced in the Estimates hearing on 28 November 2017.
- 3. Please provide a copy of the 'roadmap for Jabiru's future' as referenced in the Estimates hearing on 28 November 2017.

ANSWERS:

- 1. Through Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation, the Traditional Owners have developed a draft Jabiru Masterplan outlining their vision for Jabiru. By proposing the Masterplan, the Mirarr are seeking to retake control of their traditional land and apply it to their own economic and social benefit through leading the discussion for the future of the town as a centre piece for Kakadu National Park. A copy of the draft Masterplan is provided at **Attachment A**.
- 2. The Jabiru Steering Committee:

Northern Territory Government (NTG)	Andy Cowan – Deputy Chief Executive Officer, DCM (Chair) John Bray – Regional Director, Jabiru DCM John Netterfield – Project Officer, DCM Andrew Hopper – Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Department of Tourism and Culture
Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation	Justin O'Brien – Chief Executive Officer Susan O'Sullivan – GAC Legal Representative
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C)	Marie Taylor – Assistant Secretary, Housing Land & Culture Wayne Beswick – Director, Land Policy and Negotiations, Land Branch, Indigenous Affairs John Litchfield – Senior Adviser, Indigenous Land Policy, Land Branch, Indigenous Affairs Nick Gounis – Adviser, Land Policy and Negotiations, Land Branch, Indigenous Affairs Kym Lockley – Legal Advisor, Land Policy and Negotiations, Land Branch, Indigenous Affairs Harry Abrahams – Regional Manager, Top End and Tiwi Islands

Office of Township Leasing	Greg Roche – Executive Director Township Leasing Penny Weedon – Assistant Director Township Leasing
Northern Land Council (NLC)	Michael O'Donnell – Lawyer
Energy Resources of Australia LTD (ERA)	Alan Tietzel – Chief Advisor Agreements David Stark – General Manager, Aluminium Projects Rio Tinto Projects, Growth & Innovation – Feasibility Study Ranger James O'Connell – Legal Team ERA
West Arnhem Regional Council	Brian Hylands – Chief Executive Officer
Department of the Environment and Energy	Sally Barnes – Director, Parks Australia Catherine Jewell – Director, Business Management Section, Parks Australia
Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development	Jessica Hall – General Manager Infrastructure Policy
Department of Innovation and Science	Virginia Leitch – Assistant Manager, Industry

3. The 'Roadmap for Jabiru's Future' is a document produced by the Jabiru Steering Committee to outline the priority projects required for the transition of Jabiru. The roadmap has a number of sub-projects with identified lead agencies, these agencies are responsible for collaborating with key stakeholders to progress the sub-project and report back to the steering committee. The Roadmap for Jabiru's Future is provided at **Attachment B**.