Estimates Committee 2010 Questions Taken On Notice

(11/06/2010 to 18/06/2010)

Date: 15/06/2010 Output:

Sub Output:

Subject: Animal Welfare Advisory Committee

From: Mr Gerry Wood to Hon Malarndirri McCarthy

Local Government

4-15

Question: Minister, could you give us a list of who is on the Animal Welfare

Advisory Committee and could you also say what their role is?

Answer:

Answered On: 06/08/2010

ESTIMATES COMMITTEE Questions Taken on Notice

Date: 15 June 2010 Output: 1.0 Local Government, Regional

and Community Services

Sub Output: 1.2 Regional Development

Subject: Answer to Question on Notice 4.15

From: Member for Nelson To: Hon Malarndirri McCarthy MLA

Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services

Number: 4.15

Question: Could you give us a list of who is on the Animal Welfare Advisory

Committee and could you also say what their role is?

Answer:

The Animal Welfare Advisory Committee is appointed by the Minister for Local Government and has the following functions under the *Animal Welfare Act:*

- advising the Minister about animal welfare legislation and other matters relevant to animal welfare:
- investigating and reporting on matters relevant to animal welfare referred to it by the Minister;
- participating in the development of codes of practice and the review of adopted codes of practice;
- providing advice to bodies, organisations or the general community on programs for the improvement of community awareness about animal welfare; and
- o any other functions prescribed by the Regulations.

The Animal Welfare Advisory Committee consists of ten members and a chair appointed by the Minister for Local Government pursuant to regulation 6 of the Animal Welfare Regulations.

The chair of the Council is Dr Stephen Cutter. The members were nominated by, and represent the interests of the following organisations:

Organisation	Member
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA NT Inc)	Ms Jillian Priddy
Australian Veterinary Association Ltd	Dr Lara Bettink
Local Government Association of the Northern Territory	Alderman Robyn Knox (in process of appointment)
Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services (agency having the responsibility for the administration of the <i>Animal Welfare Act</i>)	Ms Meryl Gowing
Department of Resources	Dr Susanne Fitzpatrick
Northern Territory Cattlemen's Association Inc	Mr Luke Bowen
Charles Darwin University	Professor Bob Wasson
Department of Natural Resources, Environment, the Arts and Sport (Parks and Wildlife Commission)	Ms Robyn Delaney
Pet Industry Association of Australia	Mr Scott Andresen
Animal Management in Rural and Remote Indigenous Communities (AMRRIC)	Ms Julia Hardaker