Estimates Committee 2004 Ouestions Taken On Notice

(22/06/2004 to 01/10/2004)

Date: 22/06/2004 Output: 2.0 Government

Education

Sub Output:

Subject: Special Education Teachers

From:Mr Gerry Wood to Honourable Syd STIRLING
Minister for Employment Education and Training

2-4

Question: Minister, could you say how many schools and which schools in the

Darwin, Palmerston and rural areas, have special education teachers? How many schools received new special education teachers in this budget? What schools were they and have any schools in the rural area been given

special education teachers in this budget?

Answer:

Answered On: 07/07/2004 Answer: RESPONSE

21 schools in the Darwin area have special education teachers. These are:

Alawa Primary School Darwin High School Jingili Primary School Ludmilla Primary School Millner Primary School Moil Primary School Nemarluk Special School Nightcliff High School Nightcliff Primary School **Anula Primary School** Casuarina Senior College **Dripstone High School** Henbury Special School Karama Primary School Leanyer Primary School Malak Primary School Nakara Primary School Sanderson High School Wagaman Primary School Wanguri Primary School

Manunda Terrace Primary

14 schools in the Palmerston and Rural Cluster area have special education teachers. These are:

Bakewell Primary School Batchelor Area School Berry Springs Primary School Driver Primary School Gray Primary School Howard Springs Primary School

Humpty Doo Primary School
Jabiru Area School
Moulden Park Primary School
Palmerston High School
Taminmin High School
Top End Group School
Woodroffe Primary School
Gunbalanya Community Education Centre

A decision an allocation of additional Special Education Teachers to primary schools in the 2004/05 budget process is yet to be made.