## LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

#### WRITTEN QUESTION

Mr Higgins to the Minister for Arafura Games:

## **Arafura Games – National Teams**

- 1. Please advise which teams will be competing in the 2019 Arafura Games.
- 2. Are any of these national teams?
- 3. Please advise whether the following nations will be competing in, or represented at, the 2019 Arafura Games: Australia, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Timor-Leste, American Samoa, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Cook Islands (NZ), Federated States of Indonesia, Fiji, India, Kiribati, Macau (China), Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia (France), New Zealand, Pakistan, The Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Singapore, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, Guam (USA), Vanuatu, Vietnam, Austria, Czech Republic, France, The United Kingdom, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Kazakhstan, Malta, Nigeria, Romania, Sierra Leone, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Hong Kong (China), Japan, Laos, Myanmar, Russia, South Korea, Sri Lanka and the United States of America

#### **Answers**

1. Please advise which teams will be competing in the 2019 Arafura Games.

The following teams competed in the Arafura Games.

1st Brigade	New Zealand
Acehnese Indonesia	Northern Knights (NT)
Australia	Northern Territory
Australian Defence Force	NT Yapas
Boundless Possible NT	Palmerston NT
Brunei Darussalam	Papua, Indonesia
Cambodia	PCYC Queensland QLD
Canberra ACT	Peninsula Bobcats QLD
China	Philippines
Chinese Taipei	Pints NT
Darwin Invitational	Queensland
Darwin Mad Ballers NT	Samoa
Fiji	Sarawak Malaysia

Geelong Super Cats VIC

India

Indigenous Roos

Indonesia

Indonesia - East Kalimantan

Johor Malaysia Koalas (NT) Macau, China

Malaysia Marines

Melbourne Boomers VIC Melbourne Wolves VIC

New Caledonia

**New South Wales** 

Singapore

Solomon Islands South Australia

Spectres iAthletic VIC Stateside Sports QLD

Timor Leste

Timorese Fugees Timorese United Torres Strait

Tuvalu

**UTP** Malaysia

Vanuatu Victoria

WA Indigenous

# 2. Are any of these national teams?

Teams are from the identified area / nation indicated. They are typically not national teams as sports / nations have their own selection policies and governance structures.

3. Please advise whether the following nations will be competing in, or represented at, the 2019 Arafura Games:

Australia, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Timor-Leste, American Samoa, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Cook Islands (NZ), Federated States of Indonesia, Fiji, India, Kiribati, Macau (China), Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia (France), New Zealand, Pakistan, The Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Singapore, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, Guam (USA), Vanuatu, Vietnam, Austria, Czech Republic, France, The United Kingdom, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Kazakhstan, Malta, Nigeria, Romania, Sierra Leone, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Hong Kong (China), Japan, Laos, Myanmar, Russia, South Korea, Sri Lanka and the United States of America

The following nations did not compete in the Arafura Games: Bangladesh, Mongolia, Pakistan, Guam, Iraq, Israel, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Turkey, Laos, Myanmar, South Korea and Sri Lanka. The Federated States of Micronesia were also not in attendance (likely the Federated States of Indonesia listed above is a typo).