ESTIMATES COMMITTEEQuestion Taken on Notice

Date: 28 November 2017

Subject: Aboriginal Affairs Sub-Committee

From: Member for Nhulunbuy

To: Chief Minister

Agency: Department of the Chief Minister

Number: 1.1

Question: Who are the nine Indigenous leaders on the subcommittee? Who do they

represent? Which clans and nations? Are they paid members?

Answer: The Aboriginal Affairs Sub-Committee of Cabinet Independent Advisors

membership:

Mr M Rioli (recently deceased), Tiwi Islands;

Mr Timmy 'Djawa' Burarrwanga, East Arnhem;

Dr Josie Douglas, Alice Springs;

Mr Norbert Patrick, Lajamanu;

Mr Matthew Ryan, Maningrida;

Ms Valda Shannon, Tennant Creek;

Mr Tobias Nganbe, Wadeye; and

Ms Andrea Andrews, Katherine.

The Sub-Committee representation is inclusive of a balance of gender, age and locality for north, south, urban and remote areas and representation is as Aboriginal Territorians.

As advised by the Chief Minister in the hearings, yes they are paid members.