

## LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY 13<sup>th</sup> Assembly

## Select Committee on Opening Parliament to the People

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. A Select Committee on the subject of Opening Parliament to the People be appointed comprising the Members for Fong Lim, Stuart, Sanderson, Karama, Daly, Nelson and Araluen.
- 2. The Committee is to inquire into options for parliamentary reform, particularly increased participation in the legislative process and policy debates and improving the effectiveness of Question Time, having regard to, among other things, the Parliamentary Reform Opening Parliament to the People (Labor Policy Discussion Paper) and Restoring Integrity to Government Trust and Integrity Reform Discussion Papers published by the then Opposition ahead of the Northern Territory Election and the Discussion Paper on Assembly Committee Reform tabled by the Speaker on 25 August 2015 and other proposals which the 12<sup>th</sup> Assembly Standing Orders Committee deferred for consideration of the 13<sup>th</sup> Assembly.
- 3. The Committee is to report to the Assembly by 31 March 2017.

Resolved by the Legislative Assembly on 19 October 2016