

MEDIA RELEASE

'Ice' Select Committee

12 June 2015

PUBLIC HEARING

As part of its inquiry into the prevalence, impacts and government responses to illicit use of the drug colloquially known as "Ice" in the Northern Territory, the 'Ice' Select Committee will be holding public hearings on Friday 19 June in the Litchfield Room, Level 3, Parliament House as per the schedule below.

TIME	ORGANISATION	INDIVIDUAL(S) PRESENTING
8.30 am	NT Police Service Australian Federal Police	 Mark Payne: Deputy Commissioner, NT Police Service Ramzi Jabbour: National Manger Serious and Organised Crime, Australian Federal Police
9.15 am	Department of Health	 Professor Dinesh Arya: Chief Medical Officer, Royal Darwin Hospital Dr Didier Palmer: Director Emergency Department, Royal Darwin Hospital
10.00 am	MORNING TEA	
10.15 am	Dept. of Attorney-General & Justice	 Meredith Day: Deputy Chief Executive Officer Jenni Daniel-Yee: Acting Director, Legal Policy Unit Carolyn Whyte: Director Criminal Justice Research and Statistics Unit William McNeil: Lawyer – Legal Policy, Legal Services Unit
10.45 am	Dept. of Correctional Services	 Ken Middlebrook: Commissioner Salli Cohen: Executive Director, Youth Justice
11.15 am	Dept. of Children & Families	 Ms Anne Bradford: Chief Executive Officer Lee-Anne Jarrett Sims: Senior Policy Officer
11.45 am	Dept. of Education	 Ken Davies: Chief Executive Officer Vicki Baylis, Executive Director School Support Services
12.15 pm	LUNCH	
12.45 pm	NT Legal Aid Commission	Russell Goldflam: Barrister and Solicitor
1.15 pm	NT Aids and Hepatitis Council	Kim Gates: Executive Director
1.45 pm	Aboriginal Peak Organisations NT Danila Dilba	 Priscilla Collins: Chief Executive Officer, APO NT Dr Sarah Giles: Senior GP, Danila Dilba Joseph Knuth: Coordinator Alcohol and Other Drug Services, Danila Dilba
2.15 pm	St John Ambulance Australia (NT)	 Ross Coburn: Chief Executive Officer Michael McKay: Director of Operations – Ambulance Dr Malcolm Johnston-Leek: Clinical Director
2.45 pm	AFTERNOON TEA	
3.00 pm	Australian Crime Commission	 Hamish Hansford: Acting Executive Director of Strategy and Specialist Capabilities
3.30 pm	Banyan House	 Chris Franck: Chief Executive Officer Paul Gibbs: Board Member Forster Foundation Richard Michell: Clinical Services Manager
4.00 pm	4.00 pm CLOSE	

END