

# LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

No. 61

## WRITTEN QUESTION

K McNamara to the Minister for Mining and Energy, Hon Gerard Maley MLA:

### **Beetaloo Basin Delegations**

I refer to a meeting brief for former Chief Minister Lawler and former Minister for Essential Services Worden in February 2024. In late 2023 or early 2024, the NT Chair of the Gas Taskforce and the Territory Investment Commissioner met with investors in the United States of America (USA) to "reassure them of the NT Government's commitment to developing the Beetaloo Basin". Please inform the Parliament:

- 1. The cost of this trip to the USA and where the funds came from?
- 2. The length and itinerary of this trip, including any people external to the government who accompanied the NT Chair of the Gas Taskforce and the Territory Investment Commissioner and the people and companies they met with while there?
- 3. Have there been any other trips by Northern Territory Government officials or representatives to meet external parties regarding investments in development in the Beetaloo? If so, who, when and who paid for this/these trips?

## ANSWER

#### Question 1 and 2

As this refers to a former government and their documentation and rational – it would be best redirected to the Leader of the Opposition.

#### **Question 3**

In this term of government there have been two visits to the Beetaloo Sub-basin by Ministers and NT Government officials. These trips were both paid for by the Northern Territory Government.

#### 7 November 2024:

- Hon Gerard Maley MLA, Deputy Chief Minister
- Ms Khoda Patel MLA, Assistant Minister, Mining and Energy

- Ms Abigail Trewin, Chief of Staff to Minister Maley
- Mr Alister Trier, Chief Executive, Department of Mining and Energy
- Mr James Pratt, Senior Executive Director, Energy Development, Department of Mining and Energy
- Mr Tim McManus, Chief Executive, Department of Treasury and Finance
- Mr Craig Graham, General Manager, Strategic Projects, Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet

#### 30 January 2025:

- Hon Gerard Maley MLA, Deputy Chief Minister
- Hon Steven Edgington MLA, Minister for Essential Services
- o Mr Khoda Patel MLA, Assistant Minister, Mining and Energy
- Mr Elliot Foley, Ministerial Advisor
- Mr David Boustead, Ministerial Advisor
- o Ms Kyrrie Blenkinsop, Ministerial Advisor
- Mr Ken Davies, Chief Executive, Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet
- Mr Luccio Cercarelli, Chief Executive, Department of Housing, Local Government and Community Development
- Ms Louise McCormick, Chief Executive, Department of Logistics and Infrastructure
- Mr Stuart Knowles, Interim Territory Coordinator
- Mr James Pratt, Senior Executive Director, Energy Development, Department of Mining and Energy
- Mr Mick Butler, Deputy Under Treasurer, Department of Treasury and Finance